If you engage in, manage or operate, any business, profession, occupation or vacation rental within the City Limits of Punta Gorda, you will need to apply for and obtain a Businesses Tax Receipt. If your business has more than one location, a separate Receipt is required.  Payment of this tax receipt does not certify or imply any competence of the licensee.  All businesses must comply with zoning codes and inspection requirements.  

All businesses located within the City of Punta Gorda are also required to obtain a Charlotte County Business Tax Receipt. Contact the Charlotte County Tax Collectors Office for more information.

Once you have established your business and selected a business location, a completed Application for Local Business Tax Receipt should be submitted along with all required documentation to the City Clerk’s Office.  The City Clerk’s Office has developed a Start Up Guide with basic information for new businesses opening within the Punta Gorda City limits.  Also, the State of Florida offers a helpful HOW TO GUIDE for opening a business.

If you will be offering a residential property as a Public Lodging Establishment, the City has created an Owner's Guide to Vacation Rental to help with the process on both a local and State level.

Local Business Tax Receipts are valid from October 1st through September 30th of the following year.


  • Pay Online: Eligible businesses with valid PIN and a major credit card (Visa, Mastercard or Discover).
  • Pay by phone with a credit card by calling (941) 575-3369.
  • Pay by mail:  Make checks payment to the City of Punta Gorda and mail to City Clerk’s Office, 326 West Marion Avenue, Punta Gorda FL 33950.
  • Pay in person:  Cash, check or credit card accepted between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.


LICENSED PROFESSIONAL: Any business or occupation regulated by any State or Federal Regulatory Agency. Photocopies of all regulatory licenses, certificates, bar cards, etc. Required.              
Annual Tax $105.oo Additional Locations $52.50
NON-LICENSED    POFESSIONAL: Based on Number of Employees
1 to 19 employees $63.00
20 to 39 employees $131.25   
40 plus employees $157.50
Additional locations $31.50
MOBILE FOOD VENDING: State license required Property Owner Affidavit and Site Plan required,   (except for construction sites).  
Annual Tax $63.00
Additional Vehicles $31.50
VEHICLE FOR HIRE: Zoning Permit Required.
Annual Tax $63.00
COIN OPERATED/VENDING MACHINES: Based on Number of Machines. A list of machine locations must be attached to this application. Vending machines are not permitted outdoors.
Annual tax $63.00 plus $1.00 per vending machine
 HOME BASED BUSINESS: Affidavit for Limited Home Occupation required.
Annual Tax:
Licensed Professional $105.00
Non State Licensed Professional $63.00
 PUBLIC LODGING ESTABLISHMENT: State of Florida License for Public Lodging required.
Annual Tax $63.00
 FLEA MARKET: Based on highest number of vendors on any given day during the previous fiscal year.
Annual Tax $63.00 per vendor
Pro-Rated Fees:  New businesses opening after March 30th pay a pro-rated tax for the first year equal to 50% of the annual fee. Late fees begin accruing on October 1st. Penalties are 10% after October 1st; 15% after November 1st; 20% after December 1st and 25% after January 1st.


Receipts expire annually on September 30th. Annual renewal notices are emailed in July of each year. Payment must be received prior to September 30th to avoid late penalties.

To relocate or transfer ownership of an existing business, an Application for Local Business Tax Receipt  must be submitted to the City Clerk’s Office along with all required documents and payment.  Applications with incomplete information or missing documentation cannot be processed.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer